Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe

PB cookies

Bonjour. I am pretending it’s summer. I made these peanut butter cookies last week and as I was making them I suddenly remembered that I used the exact same recipe when I was 12 and just getting into baking. I remembered this when I tried some of the mix and it gave me flashbacks. I have baked a loooot of cookies since then, so the fact that I can still remember trying this recipe for the first time so many years ago speaks for itself.

These cookies require only a few ingredients and no flour! You feel like you’re cheating when you make them, and then when you taste them you really feel like you’re cheating. I have to mention that I love peanut butter more than ANYONE in the world and eat it out the jar everyday, so I could be biased, but I’ve given them to people who don’t like peanut butter and they were a success.

INGREDIENTS

  • 200g peanut butter (crunch or smooth)
  • 135g golden caster sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 70g white chocolate chips
  • 1 large egg

METHOD

  1. Preheat the oven to 180C/160C fan and line two baking trays with baking paper. Mix the peanut butter, sugar and salt together in a large bowl using a wooden spoon until combined. Add the egg and continue mixing until a cookie dough has formed (it will be very sticky but don’t worry!)
  2. Add in the chocolate chips and stir till combined. Form small balls with the dough and place on the baking trays, spaced apart. If you are struggling to form balls (hahaha) dust your hands with some plain flour. When the balls are on the tray press them down with the back of a fork so they spread a little. They don’t increase in size too much when baking so make them only a bit smaller than you want the finished cookie to be.
  3. Bake the cookies for 12 minutes until golden around the edges. Remove them from the oven but leave on the trays for at least ten minutes as they will be soft. As they cool they harden, so don’t be tempted to put them back in the oven! Once cooled you could eat them, I guess. Or you could paint them and use them as your muse, maybe serenade them, it’s up to you.

Recipe adapted from BBC Good Food

Whilst I was making these I nearly fell into the oven in excitement because I had what was quite possibly the best idea I will ever have; you could make them with different nut butters. Imagine them with cashew butter instead! Or pistachio butter!? If you try a different variation let me know how it went.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

